By the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c.25) the Board Secretariat was established as a separate department of government with its own Minister, the President of the Treasury Board. The committee constituting the Treasury Board includes, in addition to the President, the Minister of Finance

and four other Privy Councillors.

The Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10), defines the Treasury Board's responsibilities as the central management agency of government. These responsibilities include the organization of the Public Service, financial management, long-term expenditure planning, and expenditure control, including allocation of resources among departments and agencies of government; management of personnel functions in the Public Service; and improvement in the efficiency of management and administration in the Public Service.

The staff of the Treasury Board is divided into four branches. The Administrative Policy Branch is responsible for the development, interpretation, dissemination and evaluation of policies, guidelines and regulations in administrative areas, including the financial management systems needed to provide for adequate visibility and accountability, and other administrative inputs to government operations such as accommodation, travel, contracting, electronic data processing, etc., with a view to ensuring probity and prudence in the acquisition of administrative inputs as well as their effective and efficient use in support of departmental programs. The Planning Branch is responsible for the development and application of systems and procedures for evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of programs and projects and for providing advice and planning assistance for organizational change in government. The Personnel Policy Branch is responsible for all matters relating to personnel management in the Public Service including manpower requirements, manpower development and training, classification, compensation benefits, representing the government in collective bargaining with bargaining agents representing employees in the Public Service, and implementation of the government's objectives in bilingual matters as these affect the Public Service. The Program Branch is responsible for such matters as the financial management functions of short- and long-range expenditure forecasting, program analysis, expenditure control and estimates preparation.

The Secretariat of the Interdepartmental Committee on the 1976 Olympic Games reports to Parliament through the President of the Treasury Board, who is also the designated Minister responsible for

the National Research Council and Canadian Patents and Development Limited,

Unemployment Insurance Commission. The Commission was established under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1940 (RSC 1970, c.U-2); the Act was revised in 1955 and again in 1971. It administers the Unemployment Insurance Act and performs other duties which the Minister of Manpower

and Immigration may require.

The function of the Commission is to provide employed persons with insurance and, subject to regulations, make weekly payments to them for a limited time during periods of unemployment. Under the 1971 legislation, about 1.2 million more people are covered; only eight weeks of insured employment are required to qualify for some benefits; and under certain conditions an interruption of earnings caused by sickness or maternity can be covered. Minimum and maximum weekly benefits rates are fixed by the Act. Services of the Commission were also expanded to include a Claimant Assistance Program to help people become re-employed.

Three commissioners, consisting of the chairman who is chief executive officer, one commissioner representing employed persons and one representing employers, operate the Commission. It functions at three levels — head office in Ottawa, five regional offices and a number of district and other offices across the country. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Manpower and Immigration.

Uranium Canada, Limited. This Crown company, incorporated in June 1971 under the Canada Corporations Act (RSC 1970, c.C-32) pursuant to the Atomic Energy Control Act (RSC 1970, c.A-19), is an agency corporation under Schedule C of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10). It is for all its purposes an agent of Her Majesty and its powers may be exercised only as an agent of Her Majesty. The shares of the company, with the exception of the qualifying shares of the directors, are held by the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources. Registered under the trade mark UCAN, the company is responsible to act as an agent on behalf of the federal government with respect to the acquisition and future sales of the joint stockpile of uranium concentrates established under the agreement with Denison Mines Limited, entered into January 1, 1971. Denison Mines Limited acts as the sales agent for the concentrates in the joint stockpile including negotiating for and endeavouring to secure contracts with customers. UCAN also acts as the agent on behalf of the federal government for future sales from the general government stockpile. The corporation's head office is in Ottawa.

War Veterans Allowance Board. This Board, established under the authority of the War Veterans Allowance Act, 1930 (RSC 1970, c.W-5) is a quasi-judicial body consisting of ten members, including a chairman and a deputy chairman, appointed by the Governor in Council. The Board administers the War Veterans Allowance Act and Part XI of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act. Its functions include the responsibility of ensuring that the 19 district authorities, located in various regions throughout Canada, interpret the legislation in a fair, reasonable and equitable manner. The War Veterans Allowance Board is also an appeal body which may consider appeals against the decision of a district authority. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.